To transform an Observable into a BlockingObservable, use the Observable.toBlocking( ) method or the BlockingObservable.from( ) method. A Blocking Observable extends the ordinary Observable class by providing a set of operators on the items emitted by the Observable that block. This function takes as a parameter the ConnectableObservable that shares a single subscription to the underlying Observable sequence. The professor teaches about some topics. Observable: Assume that a professor is observable. Publish Subject. timer returns an Observable that emits a single number zero after a delay period you specify. The student observes the topic being taught by the professor. But we'll be discussing only a few operators that are commonly used for converting synchronous or asynchronous methods into Observables based on their nature.These operators take functions as arguments and emit the value returned from that function. Class Declaration. I'm a beginner and i understand how it works but i have some trouble converting my old codes to RxJava style programming. In the case of an Iterable or an Array, the resulting Observable will emit each item contained in the Iterable or Array. Here instead of saving value to be emitted, we store current index called count.And when count reaches requested index we dispose upstream and complete with success downstream single. Don't use subjects. Observer: Assume that a student is an observer. Similar to how toBlocking().single() and others return T this is about extracting values from an Observable to a new type asynchronously, correct?. ObservableElementAtSingle.java onNext. Reactive programming is a programming technique for asynchronous applications that lets you structure your code based on “reaction” to data input changes instead of an imperative programming style where you have to poll or block and wait for changes to happen.. Following is the declaration for io.reactivex.subjects.BehaviorSubject class − public final class BehaviorSub